Signature of the ARQUS European University Alliance partnership agreement

Published on December 5, 2019 Updated on December 5, 2019

Jacques Comby, President of Jean Moulin Lyon 3 University and Vice-President for the Université de Lyon’s international strategy, participated alongside Khaled Bouabdallah, President of the Université de Lyon, at the ARQUS European University Alliance’s first Rectors’ Council Meeting in Grenada on 18 October. The ARQUS partnership agreement was signed at the meeting.

Approved in June 2019 as part of the “European Universities” pilot call for proposals launched in October 2018 by the European Commission, the ARQUS European University Alliance project aims to instigate enhanced cooperation at the European level in many disciplinary and transdisciplinary sectors in the coming years. It aims to “foster a structural, systemic and sustainable transformation of the partner universities and, ultimately, of the entire European higher education system”. This European university alliance comprises seven partners, including Jean Moulin Lyon 3 University, led by the University of Lyon for the Lyon-Saint Etienne site.

Responsible for establishing the general policy and medium- and long-term strategies and main objectives of the alliance, this first Rectors’ Council brought together all the representatives of the seven member institutions. It defined the commitments and internal functioning of the network for the next three years.

The coming weeks will see the implementation of the first three-year work programme, including the creation of six councils focusing on the main themes of the alliance’s planned actions: joint academic offering and mobility; inclusion; support for research; entrepreneurship; multilingualism; and European citizenship.

A major entrepreneurship role for the Université de

Entrepreneurship has been a flagship theme for Jean Moulin Lyon 3 University for several years, and it will be the focus of the Université de Lyon’s work within the ARQUS European University Alliance. One key objective is to stimulate entrepreneurship and creativity among the overall academic community by engaging regional resources and capitalising on the complementary strengths of each member of the alliance.

The ARQUS alliance

The ARQUS alliance brings together seven world-class universities with strong roots in their individual regions: Granada (Spain, the alliance’s coordinating institution); Bergen (Norway); Graz (Austria); Leipzig (Germany); Lyon (Claude Bernard Lyon 1, Jean Moulin Lyon 3 and Jean Monnet Saint-Étienne universities, under the common banner of the Université de Lyon); Padua (Italy); and Vilnius (Lithuania).

The main objective of the ARQUS project is to enhance universities as spaces for personal and professional development for all, by promoting wider access and inclusive policies for all student, university and professional communities.

Key figures: 7 partners in 7 countries | 300,000 students | 22,000 academic staff | 15,000 administrative staff

>>> Find out more: : ARQUS European University Alliance

Top photo: Khaled Bouabdallah, President of the Université de Lyon and Jacques Comby at the first Rectors’ Council Meeting.

Photos from l. to r.: Jacques Comby, President of Jean Moulin Lyon 3 University signs the University of Granada guest book. Presentation brochure with the ARQUS European University Alliance emblem; the bridge symbolises the alliance’s links. It is Lyon’s Pont de l’Université (opposite Jean Moulin Lyon 3 University’s Les Quais campus). Representatives of the member universities of the ARQUS alliance.