Go to menu | Go to content | Search website

[ Jean Moulin University Lyon 3

Université Jean Moulin Lyon 3

Membre Fondateur - Université de Lyon

You are here : Home / Presentation / History


  • PDF version

The birth of Lyon University

In the 16th century silk production and the printing industry both developed at the expense of learning. It would be 1839 before a chair of Commercial Law was created by the municipal council and the Chamber of Commerce. The vote on the higher education law of 10 July 1896 legally defined all faculty groupings as French Universities.

The history of universities Lyon 1, Lyon 2 and Lyon 3

Universities Lyon 1 and Lyon 2 were created in the second half of the 20th century.In 1973, Lumière Lyon 2 University was split in two. Jean Moulin Lyon 3 University was thus created, choosing Professor Henri Roland as its first Vice-chancellor.

Vice-chancellors of the University of Lyon from 1974 to 2015

  • From 1974 to 1979, Mr Henri ROLAND, Professor of Private Law
  • From 1979 to 1987, Mr Jacques GOUDET, Professor of Italian
  • From 1987 to 1994, Mr Pierre VIALLE, Professor of Public Law
  • From 1994 to 1997, Mr Henri ROLAND, Professor of Private Law
  • From 1997 to 2002, Mr Gilles GUYOT, Professor of Management
  • From 2002 to 2007, Mr Guy LAVOREL, Professor of Arts
  • Since 2007 to 2012, Mr Hugues FULCHIRON, Professor of Private Law
  • Since 2012, Mr Jacques COMBY, Profesor of Geography



Last updated: April 13, 2015